Police, God, and open hearts…

This morning as I drove into work, there was a police car parked near “my spot.” And while that is perfectly normal, I also did a quick review of my most recent driving habits.

And I feel like I treat God like a policeman: when I am very aware of Him, I perform to perfection, then fudge when I think I can get away with it. The most obvious place is at church. Other times, I just wish He would hurry up and go away so I could get back to my fun.

But that’s not how it works.

I was shocked to see Amos 8 in the Advent reading list for today. Read it, and you’ll understand. What does this have to do with Christ’s birth? Yes, Israel sinned, kept sinning, wouldn’t listen, and deserved judgement. But I want to focus on the good stuff – sweet baby Jesus coming to earth to save us…from sin. That we keep doing. And won’t listen to change, but just want God to go away. And we deserve judgement. So Jesus came to offer a solution.

Amos 8 also says,

“Behold, days are coming,” declares the Lord God,
“When I will send a famine on the land,
Not a famine for bread or a thirst for water,
But rather for hearing the words of the Lord.”

While today the Bible is as close as a Google search or the nearest bookstore, the search for truth in the educated world has never been met with such frustration. We thirst to understand, and always seem to come short. What will it take for us to listen to Jesus the God-Man who had to die for all our sin?

And He did it as a man, surrounded by sinners who did not deserve anything (Romans 5).

God, please help me to open my heart to You fully this Christmas. It is easy to decorate the front room and put nice “DO NOT ENTER” signs on locked doors to the basement. But You know it all anyway. And I long for truth, but do not always want to hear it. So God, please shine light into the dark spots of my outlook on life, and help me to see You as King, not just as a baby. Thank You for the beauty of Christmas, and that You came to be one of us…and show us how much better it could be. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

