Who’s the king?

People faint for celebrities, crowd for photographs with movie stars, and do not wash the hand that they used to touch the president’s fingers. But my pastor posed a rather foreign question in church today, “Who is your king?” He explained it by asking, “Who is in control of your life, and makes the final call on decisions?”

Luke 3 opens with a bevy of dignitaries. There are political leaders and religious leaders who could change the lives of thousands of people. And yet John the Baptist was the one who received the word of the Lord. God created world-changing events by working through unexpected people, and uses the simplest to accomplish His plan. He is the true king, boss, leader.

And yet Jesus, King David’s heir, came to earth as a peasant baby. Live nativity scenes help bring Christ’s act of humble dependence on the Father to reality. He became a small baby supported by hands behind His neck, with wide eyes and chubby fingers. Philippians 2 shows how this humility characterized His whole life and His death. But it did not end there.

Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, 10 so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11 and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

Every knee will bow. God is still at work, and Jesus will be revealed as the true, living King. Is my heart humble and ready? I would have to say probably not. How have I seized control from God? Where do I need to let Him take the lead? Two things stood out to me as I reflected on this question: I do not need to understand everything and I do not need to define myself or my actions by the opinions of other people.

What does God call you to submit? He is not a God of endless questions, but delights to bring us to the answers! And yet we must depend on Him through the process. Will you let Him take the lead in your life?

God, thank You for Your patience with me, and for leading me on new adventures outside of my comfort zone. You are the only one qualified to control my life because You gave it, redeemed it, and preserve it. Past, present, and future are covered, then, and I am grateful for that insight tonight. Please be king in my life. And help me to wait on Your lead. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

