A Thanks-style life

I woke up this morning and tried to find some deals. I browsed things I never would never want to buy, much less need, and there was the scent of a good clearance hovering in the air. Welcome to the day after a national holiday centered around giving thanks. Leftovers and new bargains, here I come!

In 1 Chronicles 16, David finally saw the Ark of the Covenant enter Jerusalem. It was the physical seat that represented God’s presence. It was holy. And it had been in enemy territory for years! And now it was finally residing in the king’s city. And David wrote a song of thanks:

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name;
    make known his deeds among the peoples!
Sing to him, sing praises to him;
    tell of all his wondrous works!
10 Glory in his holy name;
    let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice!
11 Seek the Lord and his strength;
    seek his presence continually!
12 Remember the wondrous works that he has done,
    his miracles and the judgments he uttered…”

Songs are as simple way of giving thanks. So are lifesavers. They are a favorite candy of mine, and I have started buying the bags of wintergreen lifesavers for breath mints. They’re also good reminders for me to look for the moments when God is at work…helping my commute with a green light when I’m late to work, or helping me remember when I’m about to walk out the door without food for a potluck. It’s the little things that seem like coincidences. But if we see the little things, we can start to see the big things. And maybe it will be easier to trust in the end because it is so obvious that God is at work, personally, in my life.

Israel often struggled to see how God was near. Throughout the Old Testament, there were times where He seemed to have left. But over and over, He chose someone to use to proclaim His power. And David rejoiced in that. And years later, from David’s line came another born to the kingly line. He showed wisdom from His youth. And He spoke about God in ways that made people think in new ways. But Jesus was nothing like what people were expecting in a Messiah.

I’m counting down the days to Christmas, and they seem very short! But in the meantime, I’m counting “lifesavers.” I’m going to keep focusing on giving thanks, and I am hoping to catch a glimpse of this mysterious Man who changed history in a few short years. After all, Christ is the One who continues to give the best gifts year-round.

God, I get distracted so fast. I look away from Your gifts, and start drooling over the things I can get to make my life more comfortable, popular, or interesting. God, thank You for the lifesaver moments, and for songs that change my perspective and remind me to give thanks. Please help me to stay thankful and looking to You during this countdown to Christmas.

Leave a Reply

