Thankful Monday (not an oxymoron)

I woke up angry today, at the world in general. Mondays are hard. I stormed out to breakfast. And a thought popped into my head: instead of counting the ways I am “wronged,” I need to start counting the ways I am blessed.

  1. heater in front of my feet. Good start.
  2. bountiful food for breakfast and time to actually eat it. Nice.
  3. paradoxical promises in the Bible…

You know, like,

Luke 9:24-25, “24 For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it. 25 For what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses or forfeits himself?”

This is Jesus’ instruction to stop trying to grab my hours and minutes to fill them up with pleasure-inducing activities. Instead, I open my fists to God and let the hours be used as He directs through the Bible and the Holy Spirit.

Or there is the thought in Matthew 5 that the poor are the ones who are blessed…poor in spirit, but I have seen it in material goods as well.

Here’s another one from 1 Corinthians 15: death is changed to victory!

“56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law; 57 but thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain in the Lord.”

Go read through 1 Corinthians 15! This is a beautiful passage that lays out the assurance we have of resurrection: a hope, a future, and a far cry better than now.

And that is how we can keep going, even on a Monday.

God, thank You for nudges of the heart to turn a situation around and see the good instead of narrowing in on the bad. God, thank You for Your paradoxical promises on a Monday. Thank You that no matter what, You give promises that we can use every day and know they will be around tomorrow. You have conquered sin…all the way up to the champion, Death. And so please help me to wake up tomorrow eager to look for the things You are already doing, and sharing that gratefulness from my first morning grunts. Amen.

Leave a Reply

