Security

Some people have guards. Others have blankets. Firewalls are advised for all personal computers. And fortresses have always been popular among the elite. How many layers of security do you wrap around yourself? If I told you mine, that would be the first layer of my security gone, so that’s not going to happen. Yeah. And then Proverbs says:

“Do not be afraid of sudden terror
    or of the ruin[d] of the wicked, when it comes,
26 for the Lord will be your confidence
    and will keep your foot from being caught.
27 Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due,[e]
    when it is in your power to do it.”

Proverbs 3:25-27

The cool thing is, I do not have to outsmart the bad guys. I do not have to see every angle and live in FEAR. There will always be something to be afraid of in this world of snakes and earthquakes and sinful people. But God is my confidence. He sees around corners and events and time itself. And while He gives us common sense, He also gives us assurance that He is with us.

But life is not always easy. You’re right, it’s not. Job is a prime example of someone who struggled to understand how God was at work even when his possessions were wiped away, and all his children died in the same day. But after all this, “20 Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped. 21 And he said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:20-21)

Oh, but of course it could get worse. Job got a wasting disease. Why not just curse God and die? his wife asked. “10 But he said to her, “You speak as one of the foolish women would speak. Shall we receive good from God, and shall we not receive evil?”” Job 2:10

Job’s story does not end with God explaining Himself. After all, He’s God. And we’re not. And an extended reminder of how much greater God is caused Job to put his hand over his mouth and praise God.

Peter calls the believers in the young church to, “…humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7

Humble. Generous. Not stingy or clinging to the things of this earth that drift away like mist in the wind. Earth things fall apart like your childhood cassette player.

Half of the Christian journey through life is a challenge to trust. In your personal walk with God, how many steps will you follow Him? With your money? Your time? Your location? The people you talk to? If you could measure your trust with a yardstick, how far will you jump and trust Him to catch you? A curb? A staircase? A skyscraper?

God, You are good. And I like to curl up in a ball or lock my door and turn up my music. I live with a lot of fear in my life. God, I forget who You are, and I try to compress You to my level or assume I can still do a better job with my life. God, You do not promise a stress and grief-free life. You promise to guide us through the struggles into glory. And I want to see more of that in my life, and in the lives of those around me. Please help me to trust You as my security. Amen.

Leave a Reply

