When the world blows up…

 I woke up on the wrong side of the bed….it’s been a long week. And the man who wrote Proverbs 30, a guy named Agur, had some of the same challenges.

The man declares, I am weary, O God;
    I am weary, O God, and worn out.[b]
Surely I am too stupid to be a man.
    I have not the understanding of a man.”

Why have I not learned how to deal with my life? Why do I ask more questions than I ever understand answers?

“3 I have not learned wisdom,
    nor have I knowledge of the Holy One.
Who has ascended to heaven and come down?
    Who has gathered the wind in his fists?
Who has wrapped up the waters in a garment?
    Who has established all the ends of the earth?
What is his name, and what is his son’s name?
    Surely you know!”

This puts my life into perspective…it explodes my view of God…He can capture the wind and the water. These verses have Job 38-41 written all over them…

“Have you commanded the morning since your days began,
    and caused the dawn to know its place,
13 that it might take hold of the skirts of the earth,
    and the wicked be shaken out of it?” Job 38:12-13

God stores snow and hail in treasuries. He puts the Dawn in its place and doesn’t let it get out of line. Every morning. There is such thought put into the intricate network of creation…the more we see, the faster we cover our mouths and “drop the mike.”

Agur went on to say…

Every word of God proves true;
    he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.
Do not add to his words,
    lest he rebuke you and you be found a liar.”

Proverbs 30:1-6

God is the One who has wisdom. He holds every atom and every star in place. And so when I wake up weary and overwhelmed by life, I can step back, take a deep breath, and know He has the world under control. And He has already proven that He loves us in a myriad of ways. And so my weary day is ending much better than it began.

Leave a Reply

