Commit

Is it Thursday already? Wow, where did the week go? And the month? Wait, Christmas is coming up?!? Right now, my life is rather fluid: beautifully flexible, unpredictable, and very fast-paced. I am overwhelmed, frustrated by my lack of task-accomplishment, and struggling to prioritize. And so, bleary-eyed this morning I stumbled on this verse:

“Commit your work to the Lord,
    and your plans will be established.”

Proverbs 16:3

But wait, just because I pray over my schedule does not mean that everything goes according to my plan. What does this mean?

In the dissecting tools of Bible software, this is what I found:

According to the NET Bible Commentary, “commit” means “to roll,” like rolling your burdens on God.

Established: made firm, resolved.

Plans can be a burden. They weigh me down with time slots and a heightened sense of being responsible to accomplish every item. Once I roll them over to God, He does not always sign off on them. Often, they are slated for major revisions that I do not always get to approve. But then I look back and, like Job, keep my hand over my mouth so I can just watch God work.

This is a passage that also uses “commit” to describe a lifestyle:

“Trust in the Lord, and do good;
    dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.[b]
Delight yourself in the Lord,
    and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord;
    trust in him, and he will act.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light,
    and your justice as the noonday.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;”

Psalm 37:3-7a

Delight in God. What does that mean? Back to the dictionary:

Delight: pamper, refresh oneself, take pleasure in.

Time with God is not a military drill, but a spa session. Go figure, I thought it had to be hard. This life is a battle, but God is our Father, Abba, Daddy! If we only obey Him, we lose out on the biggest treasure that ever confounded the universe: love! Out of love, God gave up His power to come in human form as Jesus and do the perplexing act of taking all our sin to be punished so that He can give us a clean bill of righteousness.

How do we respond? He calls us to respond in love and give up our control over our lives. And that commitment establishes our stories in the hands of the Master storyteller. What story will your life tell?

So, daily life may drag. And long-term goals may be splashed with white-out. But the plans that matter are set in concrete with hand prints and signatures and smiley-faces.

God, thank You for plans. You planned it before You made the earth’s foundations, and You’ve been revealing plot twists ever since. God, I’m sorry for my complaining, worrying, controlling attitude about my life. Please help me to balance my commitments and plans, with Your timetable and priorities. And help me learn to LOVE! Wow, that’s powerful. I want to see it work in my life.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

