Generous

Today was the first really cold day in this area. It makes me glad to work inside. And it makes me think about those people who are struggling this season with food, clothes, things I take for granted. This verse made me think today:

“He who oppresses the poor taunts his Maker,
But he who is gracious to the needy honors Him.”

Proverbs 14:31

So…in the beginning, God created three or four different kinds of men? No, wait, Men and Women…No! He just created humanity! We divide and make lists to evaluate our status in society, but in the end, we’re all just “mankind!”

The Bible talks about mankind as God’s workmanship, His masterpieces, His craft. Life is not about “survival of the fittest,” it is about healthy interactions with others. As Proverbs 22:2 says,

“The rich and the poor [a]have a common bond,
The Lord is the maker of them all.”

We bless each other when we recognize our place in society. And God adds something even more promising to the mix: when we bless those who are poor, we bring honor to God as their Maker, who crafted each of us individually in His image. Every face, He made it. Every life, He started, no matter where it is now. What if I actually remembered that in my daily interactions?

Jesus told His disciples a parable about God dividing people at the last judgement. He called the righteous in for a blessing:

“3For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’… 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,[f] you did it to me.’”

Matthew 25:35-36, 40

This is the season of thanksgiving. It is a time to harvest the last of the summer produce and enjoy the bounty that God has provided. And it is a good time to share that as well. Some people like to pay for the person behind them in line. Others join a food drive with their church or business. Many give to community organizations. And for many, one of the best gifts to give is a smile.

God, please help me to honor You in how I interact with the people around me today. Please help me to be gracious to them, and call out the beauty that You created in them. Thank You for all You have blessed me with, and the wonderful community around me. You have given so much. Thank You! Amen.

Leave a Reply

