Anchor

If you had a million dollars…tax free…what would you spend it on? How hard would you work trying to get to that million dollar dream? I have several nice vacations, a few cute houses, and some student loans lined up for my discretionary chunk of that money. Which brings me to the proverb that jumped out at me today.

When the wicked dies, his hope will perish,
    and the expectation of wealth[a] perishes too.”

Proverbs 11:7, ESV

What? Yes, this is relevant to my life and yours. I’m not defined by a lifestyle of sin and wickedness, but how often do I live like there is nothing worth pursuing after death? I mean, if I really believe God, then there is a lot to anticipate that does not have to fit into a few decades of life. How hard do I run after wealth that could be wiped out by an earthquake or financial hiccup in the world’s economy?

Job says it well:spidersweb

“Such are the paths of all who forget God;
    the hope of the godless shall perish.
14 His confidence is severed,
    and his trust is a spider’s web.[a]”

Job 8:13-14

No matter how pretty it is, a spider web in my path is going to be poked until it falls. And really, the things I rely on to support my lifestyle are not much more secure. We have much better promises than this! Promises like those that God gave to Abraham:

17 So when God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath, 18 so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us. 19 We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, 20 where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.”

Hebrews 6:19-20, ESV (emphasis mine).

anchor

Anchors are not only in the ocean. “Anchors” are special tools used to hang heavy pictures on the wall. There are “anchors” that are extra heavy, deep, or strong pieces of a house foundation to keep it together. Anchors provide stability. And that is what God promises us…stability in life. Calm or turbulent, we have a life-line to heaven. It’s wrapped around the throne where Jesus is sitting as High Priest! You do not do that unless your task DONE! This would be the equivalent of dropping the mike; there’s nothing that can top it. And He is rooting for us, testifying to our status as God’s redeemed children. You can steer your boat in circles, and your anchor is still there, not dependent on you.

So, like Jesus said in Matthew 6:19-21, choose your security, your treasure, wisely:

19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust[e]destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

And never forget Who’s securing your anchor!

God, thank You for stability beyond money and all the stuff that I use. God, I’m sorry for relying on money and other ways of depending on myself. Please help me to see You as my stability in life, and pursue Your best plans for my money and lifestyle. Thank You that You have done so much to provide a good future for my life as I follow You. And please help me to point to You as my anchor. Amen.

Leave a Reply

