Finding the road

Some days in Autumn, my mood seems to fall faster than the leaves. Pelting rain, driving wind, and needing to travel away from warm blankets into tumultuous thoroughfares is not my idea of a good time. This is the gem that kept me going today:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make straight your paths.” 

Proverbs 3:5-6, ESV 

The Message says it like this:

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
    don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
    he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
    Run to God! Run from evil!”

Know it all? My most common mistake…at least, that I know how to start a journey to learning the rest.

Jonah made this mistake…and had a one-way fish cruise to Ninevah.

In ALL your ways acknowledge God…do not take the habit-road as a default that ignores another way God may want you to go. Trust takes some steps in a hard direction. They feel awkward, like the first practice of a new dance. Abraham knew this when God asked him to move away from all of his family and live in some unknown place. He stepped out gingerly, afraid he would be walking on jello. But God was his support and guide through all the new places.

David learned to call on God for decisions…and throughout the history of the kings of Israel and Judah, it is clear that success follows those who ask for God’s plan and follow it.

Some people may call it weakness to depend on God, like using a crutch. But for those who know they are weak, a crutch is a very welcome tool! A map in a wilderness is studied and followed.

Does God really make our paths straight if we are leaning on His understanding? It depends on what the aim is towards…if we are aiming after things of this world, we are still focused on our understanding of what is good. But the best this world has to offer is a reflection of God’s good. So straight paths lead to a better knowledge of God, sometimes along with worldly riches, and sometimes with a lot of hard times. God guides each person along a different path. And we can know that He leads us for our good.

This reminded me of Frost…but rather than taking a road by ourselves, we take it with a Friend.

BY ROBERT FROST

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
God, thank You for better understanding than what I can see in my day-to-day. Please give me wisdom, and teach me to run after You, not pursue the best that I can see in life…it’s not enough. God, You are glorious good…thank You for seeing the better in us and calling us out to live like Jesus, then helping us with each step. Thank You for getting me through today. Please help me live in this freedom. Amen.
Leave a Reply

