Dropping the mask

Batman. Zorro. Doc Brown. Storm troopers. The classic “ghost” costume. Masks are an iconic part of our culture, right back to when Greek players wore them to perform in plays. But I commonly wear masks as well. I label one of them “polite” and another one “perfect.” There are a handful of other ones that make regular appearances during the week.

No matter what I wear, I can’t hide anything from God. But no matter how obvious that sounds, I still forget it on a regular basis.

Isaiah 65 speaks about how Israel was trying to wear a mask with God.

“I have spread out My hands all day long to a rebellious people,
Who walk in the way which is not good, [a]following their own thoughts,
A people who continually provoke Me to My face,”

God was coming open-handed, undisguised….and yet the people were rushing away from Him. If I sacrifice in the garden, He won’t see…yeah, Adam and Eve tried that one. They sit in tombs, the haunt of dead people. No matter what people say, it is not cool to be there. And in the pit of their disobedience they tried to look down their noses at other people.

“Who say, ‘Keep to yourself, do not come near me,
For I am holier than you!’
These are smoke in My [b]nostrils,
A fire that burns all the day.”

God sees right through our self-delusion and hypocrisy.

But God would not destroy them all…He calls them to look again from His perspective and promises rest in safety to those who follow Him. For those who do not, however, there is nothing left to be done. They are blind, deaf, defiant. Their name will become the foreboding curse among those God saves.

So which are you going to be?

“For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth;
And the former things will not be remembered or come to [n]mind.
18 “But be glad and rejoice forever in what I create;
For behold, I create Jerusalem for rejoicing
And her people for gladness.”

No more crying. Or lives that ended too soon.

“24 It will also come to pass that before they call, I will answer; and while they are still speaking, I will hear. 25 The wolf and the lamb will graze together, and the lion will eat straw like the ox; and dust will be the serpent’s food. They will do no evil or harm in all My holy mountain,” says the Lord.”

That is a powerful breeze of promise blowing fresh life into the future. I can feel it through the mask…I want to feel it all on my face like life without a motorcycle helmet.

God, what are You calling me to leave behind? Please help me to see authentic me….which is me in Your eyes, through Your truth. I wear the mask because I am afraid to be seen without it. And yet the me You call out is so much more than what I try to hide behind. And You call me righteous, covered by Christ, saved for good. Beautiful. Wow. God, please help me see that in others and call it out in them. Amen.

Leave a Reply

