Garments of Praise or Fulfilled…and anticipated

You’re late for Sabbath, so you hurry into the room, and try to go through the usual motions, tired after a long day. And then a man stands up to read. Isn’t He the carpenter’s kid…uh, Joseph’s oldest…kinda like “Joshua”…Jesus? Starting to make a name for Himself, thinks He’s something. They are handing Him something? Oh, Isaiah, well this should be good anyway…

Isaiah 61:

“The Spirit of the Lord [a]God is upon me,
Because the Lord has anointed me
To bring good news to the [b]afflicted;
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to captives
And [c]freedom to prisoners;
To proclaim the favorable year of the Lord”

The way He reads it, this young man actually believes it!

“Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your [h]hearing.” 22 And all were[i]speaking well of Him, and wondering at the [j]gracious words which [k]were falling from His lips; and they were saying, “Is this not Joseph’s son?” (Read more in Luke 4)

And all the way back in Isaiah, the people were anticipating captivity, and the Savior seemed a long way away. Interestingly, Jesus did not read the next line of that verse:

“And the day of vengeance of our God;”..

Vengeance on whom? Those who disobey Him. He will make right the balance of this world, be there for a strong shoulder to comfort those who mourn. Throw new clothes over their backs. Bring justice and goodness to the earth. They would be the priests of the Lord.

That is interesting…priests. Back in Exodus 19, there are some interesting verses that speak of the whole of Israel being priests, but then only the tribe of Levi is chosen. Peter calls all the believers priests…we will all be able to speak to God as intercessors for the world. It is an amazing honor and responsibility.

Imagery of beauty and belonging and love conclude the chapter.

“I will rejoice greatly in the Lord,
My soul will exult in my God;
For He has clothed me with garments of salvation,
He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with a garland,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
11 For as the earth brings forth its sprouts,
And as a garden causes the things sown in it to spring up,
So the Lord [h]God will cause righteousness and praise
To spring up before all the nations.”

It reminds me of Mary’s song in Luke as well…

“My soul [ag]exalts the Lord,
47 And my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior.
48 “For He has had regard for the humble state of His [ah]bondslave;
For behold, from this time on all generations will count me blessed.
49 “For the Mighty One has done great things for me;
And holy is His name.”

It also reminds me of the end of Revelation,with new robes given to the saints. We are so blessed! We have such a rich history of God’s love being catapulted through history through the words of other believers! And such a rich history of prophesy fulfilled and yet to come. And we will get new garments!

God, thank You for who You are, for the beauty You put in our lives, and the way You want to clothe us with beauty, wholeness, and sustained lives. You are enough, You are good, and I pray that You will open my eyes to see more of that around me. I’m sorry for my worried distractions. Please help me to start with thankfulness, and for it to grow! I want to see You work, and like Isaiah shows, it is already there. Thanks. Amen.

Leave a Reply

