Fog…

walkers-in fogSometimes it feels that we are not Wanderers above the Sea of Fog, but stuck in the middle. And it is hard to see what God is doing. I keep asking,”God, where is Your power?” Maybe I should be asking, “Can You help me see above the fog?”

“For My own sake, for My own sake, I will act;
For how can My name be profaned?
And My glory I will not give to another.”

Isaiah 47-49 begins with a condemnation of prideful Babylon. No, you’re not that good, you are just who God used. But Israel, you brought it on yourself. You were like your idols, stone-faced and immobile, stubborn to reject the good. God works differently than you. He will send you a Servant. Not a king. It made me pause. It reminds me of Psalm 23, a promise of peace brought by a strong and compassionate Shepherd.

“And now says the Lord, who formed Me from the womb to be His Servant,
To bring Jacob back to Him, so that Israel might be gathered to Him
(For I am honored in the sight of the Lord,
And My God is My strength),
He says, “It is too [s]small a thing that You should be My Servant
To raise up the tribes of Jacob and to restore the preserved ones of Israel;
I will also make You a light [t]of the nations
So that My salvation may [u]reach to the end of the earth.”

So there is hope for the Babylons of the world, and the obstinate ones who cannot see past the fog. The Son is coming to burn through the fog of life and bring sight. But sometimes it still feels like the fog of this fallen world is all we can see. And we feel like all we do is run into trees along the path.

“But Zion said, “The Lord has forsaken me,
And the Lord has forgotten me.”hand-442104_1920
15 “Can a woman forget her nursing child
And have no compassion on the son of her womb?
Even these may forget, but I will not forget you.
16 “Behold, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands;
Your walls are continually before Me.”

Staring back through the years at this verse, it is so much more significant after Jesus’ hands and feet were pierced for us.

“And all flesh will know that I, the Lord, am your Savior
And your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob.”

snow-nature-forest-treesGod, thank You that You clear the fog. Thank You that Your power is so prevalent in the world, working in the midst of obstinate humanity. And You send us Your Son as a Servant. God, Your power is obvious in the world when I look at how You have changed it forever by stepping into our lives as a Servant! Thank You! Thank You for the fog that reminds me to turn to You, and for the guidance of Your word. Please help me to see better above the clouds. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

