When God spells things out…

Backtalk. Backseat driving. Sass. Isaiah 45 is where God spells everything out so that He doesn’t get any guff.

First of all, He has planned everything out ahead of time. Like using Cyrus…who’s Cyrus? A Persian king who came much, much later. God is his cavalry in front, preparing the battlefield. God called Cyrus by name, and he wasn’t even born yet! And Cyrus did not even follow Him! God can even use the rebels.

“That [e]men may know from the rising to the setting of the sun
That there is no one besides Me.
I am the Lord, and there is no other,
The One forming light and creating darkness,
Causing [f]well-being and creating calamity;
I am the Lord who does all these.”

There is an Oregon verse mixed in here. Open up, earth, and receive the salvation dripping down from heaven that there may be new life and growth!

Listen, be open! Don’t be like a piece of clay that talks back to the potter…”hey, why aren’t there any handles on this thing…You know You’re making me wrong. I’m crooked. Hey, the clay is getting thin…”

Hey, God says, this is My plan, and I’m going to save Israel. Because I’m God.

Toward the end of the chapter there are even some responses written into the passage. It reminds me of southern preaching…and this:

“I am the Lord, and there is none else.
19 “I have not spoken in secret,
In [t]some dark land;
I did not say to the [u]offspring of Jacob,
‘Seek Me in [v]a waste place’;
I, the Lord, speak righteousness,
Declaring things that are upright.”

How often do we accuse God of being cryptic and steering us wrong?

Hey, if you want to pick  a different god, Isaiah 46 shows some of the competitors. They are carried on the backs of weary animals who cannot outrun the enemy. So the gods are captured after an inglorious and bumpy ride. In contrast,

“Listen to Me, O house of Jacob,
And all the remnant of the house of Israel,
You who have been borne by Me from [c]birth
And have been carried from the womb;
Even to your old age I [d]will be the same,
And even to your [e]graying years I will bear you!
I have [f]done it, and I will carry you;
And I will bear you and I will deliver you.”

The bottom line is, He is God alone. There is no other option. And so there should be no “ifs, buts, or why nots.”

God, why do I keep questioning You? Thank You that You are so patient, but You are also unashamedly God. Thank You for this reminder of how the competition is so sparse and You are so good. It’s beautiful. To You be the glory, in my day today, and every day after! Amen.

Leave a Reply

