Isaiah at the beach…

A retreat to the beach is helpful in many ways. Rest, reflection, and a new appreciation of God’s creation are just a few things I have brought home with me. And Isaiah 44 is full of imagery that reminds me of the beach.

God promised to pour water on the thirsty land and pour His Spirit on Israel. At the beach, there is sand piled next to millions of gabeach-645597_1920llons of water, but it dries out while waiting for the tide. How quickly do I “dry out” and need Spiritual refreshment? As regularly as I need sleep!

God is a Rock, much like the immovable base of the Yaquina Head Lighthouse that I enjoyed for the first time. Waves below churned into a pretty froth like meringue, safely distant below.  A lighthouse provides direction, a stable landmark for those in the middle of ever-changing chaos. These verses echo with that same stability:

“Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts:

‘I am the first and I am the last,
And there is no God besides Me.”

But if we depend on idols, it is like taking a chunk of driftwood and polishing half into an idol and using the other half for a beach fire. How often am I this blind to the rules and manipulations I arrange in my life?

“I have wiped out your transgressions like a thick cloud
And your sins like a [r]heavy mist.
Return to Me, for I have redeemed you.”

While the beach is oftSufers_and_fog_at_Long_Beach,_BC_2en cloudy, the sun is powerful to pierce the mist and add bright sparkle to the landscape. That is what God does to the clouds of sin – He blots them out, and calls us to enjoy lives free of that gloom.

I never knew that I could see the Bible so well through sand-flecked sunglasses. God, You are the One who filled the ocean, poured in the salt, and sent it into continual motion. And You use the continually-moving human landscapes of this world for Your plan also. God, I am so often restless. Please help me to appreciate the calm, set my foundation on You, and get a new taste for how You are at work. Thank You for water, for the ocean, and my time I was able to spend there. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

