Through

Through. We travel through rain, hail, snow, fog, and (almost)tea every other type of liquid weather in Oregon. But I was almost dancing the last time rain droplets started sprinkling down. Because “through” is an action word that means you will not be there forever. And it is fun to travel through the wet because the dry is that much cozier, and a cup of tea such a nice contrast.

God does not ask us to get stuck in trials. He does not create magic bridges over the trials so that we are oblivious to them. He leads us through the trials.

Isaiah 42-43 has a beautiful picture of this. In trials, we can recognize that we are missing things, and get a concept of our blindness. We begin to be thirsty, and realize we really really need some water. And we realize that we cannot save ourselves. God is able to step in at that point to wow us with water in the desert, the ability to recognize the truth about our situations, and a word-stopping display of His grace in our catastrophes of life.

Isaiah 42 speaks of the Servant that God works through to bring this salvation. The people of God are trapped in caves and chained in dark prisons. But God is going to bring a change:

“But now, thus says the Lord, your Creator, O Jacob,
And He who formed you, O Israel,
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name; you are Mine!
“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they will not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched,
Nor will the flame burn you.
“For I am the Lord your God,
The Holy One of Israel, your Savior…”

God, I am sorry for worrying. It assumes that I have the ability to manipulate my life to a satisfying end. And I can’t. So God, thank You that You are in control, You lead us through life, and You have given me the ability to hand over my burdens to You. You make things well with my soul. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

