The Champion

You know a chapter is going to be good when God calls for silence (Isaiah 41)….”No, hold on guys, just hear me out. Ahem.”businesspresentation

So, who paves the way for victory? Me. Who makes people clutch their weapons and call for bravery? Yeah, that’s Me, too.

“But you, Israel,”

The name God gave Jacob that means “strives with God,” a term of wry familiarity,

“My servant,”

When it is God you are serving…its like the king to the power of the universe.

“Jacob whom I have chosen,”
Descendant of Abraham My friend,

This is not a chance encounter, but an intentional relationship that God started!

“9 You whom I have [c]taken from the ends of the earth,
And called from its remotest parts
And said to you, ‘You are My servant,
I have chosen you and not rejected you.
10 Do not fear, for I am with you;
Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you, surely I will help you,
Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’
11 “Behold, all those who are angered at you will be shamed and dishonored;
Those who contend with you will be as nothing and will perish.
12 “You will seek those who quarrel with you, but will not find them,
Those who war with you will be as nothing and non-existent.
13 “For I am the Lord your God, who upholds your right hand,
Who says to you, ‘Do not fear, I will help you.’”

God does not simply ask us to ignore problems, He just asks us to trust them to Him.

He changes the playing field. Idols? They’re nothing! They do not do anything or change circumstances. But God? He can make the desert more lush than Beverly Hills. It’s illogical, and it makes us stop in our tracks!

God, thank You that You allow us to be Your servants. It comes with responsibility, and yet also with great comfort. You are like a champion shouting an ultimatum. Who wants to challenge You? And You are my help in trouble. Thank You! Amen.

Leave a Reply

