Stepping on snakes…and other ways to praise God.

I almost stepped on a snake today. After walking on a one-mile trail through grass and wooded areas, I started power-walking down a gravel road and had to jump mid-step to get over a two-foot long snake! But it was cool to see it, once I was on the other side.  Pausing in God’s creation is something I need practice doing more often. So later today my roommate and I chased the supermoon lunar eclipse through the hills near our home. Once we caught a glimpse of it in the twilight, we wound through residential homes, over country roads, and just to the other side of no-street-lights  to sit and watch the veil of the earth’s shadow come back off its shining face.

Isaiah 26 continues the praise song from Isaiah 25. It focuses on remembering what God has done.

“You keep him in perfect peace
    whose mind is stayed on you,
    because he trusts in you.
Trust in the Lord forever,
    for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.”

The moon never faces away from the earth, but always turns and moves with it. Jesus is calling us to do the same thing, to always turn with Him and stay oriented according to how He is moving. He is a solid base to ground your life on.

“O Lord our God,
    other lords besides you have ruled over us,
    but your name alone we bring to remembrance.”

This is the key: who do we remember to serve and worship? Many times I have been in the middle of a sticky situation, and suddenly realize that I have not prayed a single word to ask God for help. God is the enduring Lord, not me. How can I change my default mode to look to Him? It will begin by trusting Him when I am not in “panic” mode.

“O Lord, in distress they sought you;
    they poured out a whispered prayer
    when your discipline was upon them.”

This passage talks about our efforts in life- they hurt like childbirth, but the end result is as stable and helpful as a handful of wind. But in our distress, God hears us! Like the wind whistling over the trail, day or night, He is listening.

This is my first day to see both a snake and a supermoon eclipse. God is great, and His creation reflects that. God, please help me to remember what You are doing in my everyday life; to look for it, stay turned toward You, and ground my life on You. Please help me to whisper prayers to You when I am floored by Your creation, when I am confused what to do, and when I am just walking through my day. You are good! Thank You for how I got to see that today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

