Time of change

Psalm 25

There are times in life to stick to your routine, and there are times to reevaluate and revitalize. I am in a period of transition trying to avoid the question tornado lurking in the back of my mind.

This Psalm brought me a lot of comfort today. A few verses stand out.

Show me Your ways, O Lord;
Teach me Your paths.
Lead me in Your truth and teach me,
For You are the God of my salvation;
On You I wait all the day.

God is so much bigger than the little ruts I get stuck in and the view of Him I hold through the day. I am praying to get a glimpse of the God who so energized the people around Him that they began to change their world. They began to do life with a greater purpose. And their joy was contagious through the worst of times.

The troubles of my heart have enlarged;
Bring me out of my distresses!

Why do I borrow trouble? I feel like I have built up a list of commands for myself like a backpack full of Norton anthologies. So what do I need to shed from my life? Each relationship is different, and formula “shortcuts” only create detours to truly getting to know You.

Keep my soul, and deliver me;
Let me not be ashamed, for I put my trust in You.

God, I want my life to be changed. I thirst for some fiery passion, not dogmatic Chamomile. And that will set me off-balance in my comfortable routine. Thank You already, because You’ve promised to lead me through that to a better place. And I can’t wait to catch a little glimpse around the next bend of life of who You are and how You work. Amen. Here we go again adventuring!

This video sums it up well. The Motions.

Leave a Reply

