Living washed, sanctified, and justified!

Paul was not writing for the modern era, but his words touch on many highlights of current debates. In 1 Corinthians 6, he begins with lawsuits.

The interesting thing about Paul’s logic is that he says Christians should not pursue lawsuits in human-logic courts because believers will judge the world and angels. Wait, what? Angels? God would entrust a job like that to us? It is stretching to think that way.

Regarding lawsuits in this present day, why do we pursue them? “Why not rather be wronged? Why not rather be defrauded?” Paul asks. I once heard an older Christian lady say that we as Christians do not have “rights” that we pursue. I don’t believe that statement is true, or it is at least flawed. But perhaps we do need to realize that we have rights of a different sort, as citizens of a different country (Philippians 3:20 speaks to this). Which will we put first, material possessions or a relationship with other believers and a witness to the world? This is a difficult subject for me, and one I will need to continue praying over for wisdom. 

God takes these issues seriously. Those who remain in ungodly lifestyles will not join God’s kingdom. It’s a heart-stopping thought, then Paul adds these words, “11 Such were some of you; but you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and in the Spirit of our God.” We are made new, made clean, and made for a different lifestyle! These are powerful words to write down and remember all day long!

And then Paul moves on to sex. While we are permitted to do many things, they should not take control over our lives. These verses outline why I have a problem with the American ease toward unrestrained sexual satisfaction. God created a mysterious binder in physical touch, and especially sexual relations. It is a picture of the spiritual binder that Christ made with believers as members of His Church. And by messing with the earthly relationship, we cheapen what Christ has given us, and are not able to see it or show it to the world in the way God intended.

“19 Or do you not know that your body is a [k]temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from [l]God, and that you are not your own? 20 For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body.”

God, please search my heart and help me to see how I have distorted my view of my relationship with You through lust after easy satisfaction. This may come through money and goods, or through the desire for a relationship that centers around me. I need help on this one. Thank You that You are making me new! I lived in that kind of lifestyle; but I was washed, but I was sanctified, but I was justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and in the Spirit of our God! Amen!!

If you want some powerful lyrics stuck in your head, this is a toe-tapping version of a good old song!

Leave a Reply

